Enna

This creation was inspired by a seedpod from a tree that I picked up on one of my walks. I wanted to incorporate the seedpod into a beak for a bird like creature. Sometimes when you create things, there’s something about it that you don’t like.  As I looked at this creature, I didn’t like the way it was coming together. Sometimes that frustrations turns into a complete redo and other times, just a tweak here and there does the trick. On this creation, it was off with Enna’s head and then I started sculpting again. I abandoned the seedpod idea for his beak but I did incorporate that somewhere else which I will cover later. I’m really pleased the way the new head turned out, it gives Enna a more pleasing and softer look. His happy expression makes him look delighted to be here. I love the way Enna’s coat turned out, it has this amazing vintage button that I set in the clay that really gave it the realism I was looking for. Enna’s wings are from the seedpod so I was still able to use this inspiration from my nature loot. The seedpod had fine hair like fuzz on it which adds to the realism of the wings giving it a feather like quality. Enna is out enjoying the beautiful weather and doing some fishing, my family loves to fish so Enna fits right in. I made his bag from a burlap material which is stuffed with moss and a couple of fish which he caught that day. His Fishing pole is made from a feather which I did not have to go far for. I always wanted chickens so my husband built me a wonderful Coop. I love my chickens and they give me about 40 fresh eggs a week but more about that another day. I have always been fascinated with birds, I love all winged creatures. Enna is a delightful character, it is hard to look at him without smiling and wanting to at least go enjoy the beautiful weather or put a pole in the lake and go fishing.

4 thoughts on “Enna

  1. ivar111 March 28, 2016 / 3:00 pm

    That pond looks very familiar, I hope Enna is following the catch and release policy 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. audreypettit March 29, 2016 / 12:29 pm

    So cool, Paige! Love the story of the seedpod and how it ended up as the wings on your fabulous creation. The draping of the coat is amazing. Really love that basket on his back, too. And how perfect to find him poised on the edge of a pond, doing his thing! Love it!

    Liked by 1 person

    • pglonon March 29, 2016 / 7:51 pm

      That’s amazing feedback thank you very much😄❤️

      Like

Leave a Reply

